30 Outstanding Feats of Visual Storytelling: My Top Favourite Examples

Fahri Karakas
12 min readJun 15, 2024
Photo by Ethan Hu on Unsplash

I love doodling. I feel liberated and relaxed whenever I doodle.

I feel similar positive emotions whenever I come across visual storytelling (through various media, such as doodles, cartoons, comics, and animation).

I love the enchanting power of visual storytelling. Some of the most mind-blowing moments in my life were when I was completely immersed in world of visual storytelling (including animations, comics, cartoons, science fiction, and storytelling).

I love it when every picture speaks, every frame breathes, and every line sketches the contours of human experience.

I love it when images and words coalesce to craft narratives that linger in our minds long after the page is turned, the screen dims, or the canvas cools.

What makes visual storytelling so powerful?

  • Emotional resonance: The most compelling visual stories are not just seen or read — they are deeply felt. They tap into the visceral parts of us, resonating on an emotional frequency that plain text often can’t reach. Pixar’s animations do more than tell a story. They tug at our heartstrings, reflect our own joys and sorrows, and mirror our internal struggles and triumphs.
  • Universal themes: Striking visuals…

--

--

Fahri Karakas

Associate Professor in Business & Leadership at University of East Anglia. Passionate about doodling, imagination, and creativity. Author of Self-Making Studio.